Testimonials & Reviews

4.89/5
James Leonard Opticians -  - Optometrist

James Leonard Opticians

Optometrist located in Midtown, New York City, NY & Carroll Gardens, Brooklyn, NY

105 total reviews

James Leonard Opticians always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 105 reviews with an average rating of 4.89 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about James Leonard Opticians below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Bonnie V.
Submitted 05/29/21
I needed an eye exam as I had not had one for some years, and recently noticed an issue with my vision. It was easy to request an appointment online for the same day and was called shortly after to confirm the appointment. Though it was no longer available they had one the next day. The actual visit was pleasant, with friendly and attentive staff. It was mid afternoon and the store was quiet and did not have any other clients waiting. After the usual checks and tests for any underlying issues, the Dr. asked me to explain again what brought me in, and knew tight away it would be best to see an ophthalmologist ASAP but agreed to still do a regular exam while I was there. I received a referral and they will keep my new prescription on file if needed. No pressure to purchase frames or any lack of professionalism even though my insurance had no copay for me to pay at the visit. I also learned I have an astigmatism, which apparently I've had for some time, but the chain opticians I went to for years (and which don't take my insurance) never bothered to tell me. I will be back.
David E.
Submitted 05/25/21
Thoroughly answered all my questions. Thanks!
Katrina F.
Submitted 05/09/21
Everyone is super helpful all around, highly recommend. Have been coming to James Leonard in Manhattan/BK for a few years now and I have no intention of switching, super high quality!
Brandon D.
Submitted 05/06/21
Great service, great selection. All around wonderful experience.
Atit S.
Submitted 05/01/21
Excellent care and high-end frames.
Jason H.
Submitted 04/28/21
a friednly expirience for a first time eye care customer
Amit G.
Submitted 04/10/21
Professional
Juliana F.
Submitted 11/02/20
This is the best store in town with amazing selection of frames and great staff. I have been going to this store for many years and I really love the experience every time I go there. If you love your eyes go to the best, go to James Leonard Opticians!
Stevin N.
Submitted 10/27/20
Excellent staff! Very helpful, patient, knowledgeable and nice. Great selection of frames. I have been going to James Leonard Opticians for many years now and I always had an excellent experience.
Mary H.
Submitted 10/27/20
The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.They listen and make good suggestions.
Stephanie V.
Submitted 09/20/20
Awesome
Toni G.
Submitted 09/03/20
I'm embarrassed to admit that I hadn't visited an eye doctor EVER in my adult life and was long overdue a routine eye exam. I'm super pleased with the entire staff and lovely Optometrist who made me feel so welcome. Their high level of expertise, patience, and friendly vibes is top notch. Elated that my experience was seamless and quick!
Walter M.
Submitted 08/24/20
I needed some lenses replaced on an old pair of sunglasses I have so stopped in (I live down the block) to see if they could help. I had the lenses already. As soon as I walked in, I was promptly greeted and helped. I was warned that the replacement might not work but that they would be happy to try if I assumed the risk. I agreed, and about 30 seconds later I’m handed my fixed glasses and am told there was no charge. I’ve been living in the neighborhood for over 11 years and wanted to write this review because I really felt like it was a small town shop who cared for and appreciated each customer. I also felt that the employees there really love what they do. Thank you, and if and when I need glasses I would happily give more business to them.
Stephen H.
Submitted 08/12/20
Great service and great doctor! Highly recommended!
Walter M.
Submitted 08/02/20
The eye doctor was excellent at explaining the vision and sight in each eye, and was very nice. Selecting glasses was also a good experience.
Thiago V.
Submitted 07/12/20
First time I am able to use contacts while at work in eight years! Very happy
Jesus M.
Submitted 07/01/20
Everyone was super nice and friendly. My new favorite eye doctor for sure!
Michelle A.
Submitted 06/25/20
Always a pleasure going here . Staff is friendly and efficient.
Marilynn M.
Submitted 06/03/20
Great experience during a very trying time. Many thanks to all for your assistance. Be safe and be well - Marilynn
Jennifer W.
Submitted 02/07/20
Dr. Irina Stoica is so attentive and informative it is impossible not to immediately feel comfortable with her. The gentlemen who helped me choose my frames and which lense options worked best for my needs and budget were so kind, helpful, and funny. Honestly the best and most FUN experience I have ever had getting new glasses. Highly recommend!

James Leonard Opticians accepts most insurance plans available in the US, including Cigna, Guardian, United Healthcare, NVA, UFT, VSP, Blue Cross, Blue Shield, Aetna, Davis Vision, Eye Med Vision Care, Medicare, Oxford Health Plans. Additionally, to find out how you can benefit from our JLO Corporate Plan or if we accept your union plan, please call our office. We will be happy to answer all of your insurance questions.

Aetna
BCBS
Cigna
Davis Vision
Empire Blue Cross Blue Shield
EyeMed
GHI
Guardian
MagnaCare
Medicare
Medicare
National Vision Administrators
NVA
Oxford (UnitedHealthcare)
Oxford Freedom
Spectera
Our Locations

Choose your preferred location